Barnett Prize for Local Distinguished Author

Southern Lit Alliance is pleased to present the Barnett Prize for Local Distinguished Author. The Barnett Prize will be awarded annually to recognize the outstanding achievement of authors in our area and to raise awareness of their talent.. The award is offered through the generosity of Warren Barnett, art philanthropist and President of Barnett & Company, a firm offering personalized investment council in Chattanooga for 35 years.


For more information or questions, contact Lynda LeVan at



A three-judge panel whose members have demonstrated knowledge and expertise in the field of creative and published writing will choose the winner. The winning author must demonstrate a successful track record of publication in the genre of fiction, non-fiction, short story or poetry. 


Judges for 2019:

Mark Jones, director of strategic initiatives at the Chattanooga Times Free Press, has served as a writer and editor for newspapers, magazines and books during his 20-plus-year career in publishing.


Dr. Nick Mansito, Assistant Professor of English at Chattanooga State Community College. Dr. Mansito has authored two poetry collections, 3rd & 7th and Miscellaneous Debris.


Dr. Thomas Balázs, Associate Professor of English, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga. Dr. Balázs is the author of the short story collection Omicron Ceti III (Aqueous Books, 2012). His fiction has appeared in numerous journals and anthologies including The North American Review, The Southern Humanities Review, and The Robert Olen Butler Prize Anthology.



The Arts Building

301 East 11th Street

Suite 301

Chattanooga, TN 37403


(423) 267-1218

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2016 by Southern Lit Alliance